top of page

Ging Nang Boyz - I Don't Wanna Die!

You and I, now and forever

Japan's most influential Punk Band!

Among all the other Punk bands Japan has got, these guys are the ones who succeeded in reaching the top of my list.

The Ging Nang Boyz (銀杏BOYZ) is an Indie Punk band from Japan consisting of lead singer/rhythm guitarist, Kazunobu Mineta (left), bassist/back vocalist, Shinya Abiko, (back), lead guitarist/back vocalist, Takahiro Nakamura or Chin (middle) and drummer/back vocalist Mamoru Murai (right). They were formed in 2003 as a continuation from their old band "Going Steady". To put it simply, Nakamura Chin enters the old Going Steady replacing Asai Takeo thus forming Ging Nang Boyz. They claimed to have been influenced by popular music groups such as Weezer and Iggy Pop.

This crazy band caught my attention one day as I was browsing Japanese punk music on Youtube. I saw the song "Baby Baby" and immediately clicked on the video. The starting melody was so sweet and it made me listen to the entire song with its beautiful verses and memorable chorus. Try listening to it!

During their live performances, they go all out with their crazy and lively stage antics. They jump around and sing their hearts out which makes the audience go wild. Mineta would go so far to actually make himself bleed! Although, some of them always end up injuring themselves, it is quite satisfying knowing that everybody is having fun. Some of their best songs performed live are "Skool Kill", "Kakenukete Seishun" and "I don't wanna die". I was brought to tears watching a video of them performing these two songs live as I could really feel they put their soul into their songs.

Here is a video of them performing "Skool Kill". Such a wild and lively performance!

Unfortunately in 2014, 3 of them left the band; Chin, Abiko and Murai. They had their share of fun for over 10 years. I guess it's time for them to rest or experiment with new sounds. However, Mineta now performs solo but still uses the band's name as a token of memory and appreciation of his past members' work.

Ging Nang Boyz has produced 5 studio albums which are "Door", "Our World War Three-like Love Revolution", "I Don't Wanna Die", "I Stood Among the Light" and "Light". Their latest live album is called "Beach". Among their albums which I really enjoy are "I Don't Wanna Die" , "Door" and "Our World War Three-like Love Revolution"

Although most of their song lyrics are vulgar and obscene, they really encourage the listeners to be a tougher human being and face all t he challenges life has to offer. Since I have recently found this band, I tried listening to their songs each day and it really makes my day complete.

Allow me to share with you a few of my favourite photos of each band member:

Kazunobu Mineta, lead singer. He is very energetic on stage, sometimes bleeding himself too. His voice really shows emotion when singing. He is the soul of Ging Nang Boyz.

Shinya Abiko or Abiko-chan as I like to call him. He is the bassist with the most wonderful basslines I've ever heard for an Indie Punk band. He even screams soulfully during their concerts! I also find him adorable.

Nakamura Takahiro or Chin, their crazy guitarist whom admired by lots of the female fans for his cuteness and energy on stage. He is really good at making melodious guitar riffs and solos. Just like Mineta, Chin is also very energetic and unpredictable during live shows.

Murai Mamoru, the drummer. He is really wild on the drums with his timeless beats and plentiful stamina. He really gets the band going nuts! He never misses a beat on the drums. He is really a beast behind the drumset!

My top 10 favourite Ging Nang Boyz songs:

1. Baby Baby

2. Ginga Tetsudou no Yoru (Night on the Galactic Railroad)

3. I Don't Wanna Die

4. Skool Kill

5. You & I

6. Kakenukete Seishun (Ballad for Brutal Dreamers)

7. Enjo Kōsai (Compensated Dating)

8. Wakamonotachi (Young People)

9. Stand by me

10. トラッシュ (Trash)

Featured Posts
bottom of page